About this Project

In this blog, I will examine Electronic Dance Music (“EDM”) using the Circuit of Culture as my theoretically framework. In my first post, I will present my version of the Circuit of EDM culture. Then, because the circuit (as a result of its many intersections) does not lend itself well as framework to explore EDM, I will take a more natural approach to organizing later posts. I will explore the history of EDM music, touching upon production, consumption and regulation. Finally, with a solid understanding of EDM, I will return to the Circuit of Culture, where in my final post I will show the reader how all of the aspects of EDM music fit into my proposed Circuit of EDM Culture, largely referencing two “case study posts” on Swedish Techno and the Flume Remix of “A Baru in New York.”

Leave a Reply

